Panel: CHIPS ACT, AI, Quantum Computing , and FPGAs

Prof. Lesley Shannon, Simon Fraser University

Bio: Lesley Shannon is a Professor and Chair for the Computer Engineering Option in the School of Engineering Science at Simon Fraser University. She is also the NSERC Chair for Women in Science and Engineering for BC and Yukon. Dr. Shannon’s primary area of interest is computing system design, including architectures, design methodologies, and programming models. 

Prof. David Andrews, University of Arkansas

Bio: David Andrews is a Professor and the Mullins Endowed Chair of Computer Engineering, the University of Arkansas. Dr. Andrews’ research interests are in the general area of embedded systems architectures. He received his Ph.D. from Syracuse University in 1992 where he developed new approaches for performing application-specific analysis of parallel computing systems. 

Prof. Volker J. Sorger, University of Florida

Bio: Volker J. Sorger is the Rhines Endowed Professor for Semiconductor Photonics and Founding Director of the Florida Semiconductor Institute at the University of Florida. Dr. Sorger coordinates microchip and semiconductor activities in the state of Florida including R&D and manufacturing private-public partnerships and workforce development programs. Technical thrusts include, photonic-electronic integrated circuits, AI accelerators, advanced packaging, optoelectronics devices, and chip prototyping. For his work, Dr. Sorger received multiple awards including the SPIE Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award, top 16 educators in the nation, the Presidential PECASE Award, the AFOSR YIP, the Emil Wolf Prize, and the National Academy of Sciences award of the year. Dr. Sorger held editor roles in Optica, Nanophotonics, Applied Physics Rev., eLight, Chips. He is a Fellow of The Optical Society (formerly OSA), SPIE, IEEE, IAAM. He holds more than 20 U.S. patents, most of which are licensed to corporations and ventures.