2nd Workshop on Security for Custom Computing Machines

The 2nd Workshop on Security for Custom Computing Machines will be a virtual workshop in conjunction with FCCM 2022 . The workshop will be held on Wednesday May 18 from 11:15 to 2:15 EST. (See below for Schedule)

Hardware security is an important design consideration. Recent events have raised awareness of security in general-purpose processors. As experts we must consider: What are the equivalents for reconfigurable architectures and custom computing machines? How do we defend against threats that exist today? How do we design our systems to defend against future threats? This is increasingly important as we deploy customized hardware at unprecedented scales.

This workshop is an opportunity to publicize our field at a top-tier conference. Our goal is to increase the awareness of ongoing research in this area, develop new collaborations, and share research progress.

Speakers and organizers listed in alphabetical order


Confirmed Speakers


The workshop will be organized as three 1-hour sessions with a 15 minute mini-keynote, 5-minute pre-recorded lightning presentations, and a 15-minute break for discussion.

Session A: Trusted Microelectronics

Time (EST) Presenter
11:15Opening NotesDustin Richmond (UW)
11:20Mini-KeynoteChristof Paar (Max Planck Institute)
11:35Video Presentation 1Nele Mentens (KU Leuven)
11:40Video Presentation 2Jason Oberg (Tortuga)
11:45Video Presentation 3Christopher Clark (GTRI)
11:50Video Presentation 4Jakub Szefer (Yale)
11:55Discussion Break

Session B: Threats and Sidechannels

Time (EST) Presenter
12:15Opening NotesMirjana Stojilovic (EPFL)
12:20Mini-KeynoteDennis R. E. Gnad (KIT)
12:35Video Presentation 1Dina Mahmoud (EPFL)
12:40Video Presentation 2Colin Drewes (UCSD) 
12:45Video Presentation 3Russ Tessier (UMass Amherst) 
12:50Video Presentation 4Ilias Giechaskiel (Independent Researcher)
12:55Video Presentation 5Xiaolin Xu (Northeastern) 
13:00Discussion Break

Session C: Integrity and Defenses

Time (EST) Presenter
13:15Opening NotesJeff Goeders
13:20Video Presentation 1Aydin Aysu (NCSU)
13:25Video Presentation 2Debayan Das (Intel)
13:30Video Presentation 3Hayden Cook (BYU)
13:35Video Presentation 4Matt French (USC ISI)
13:40Video Presentation 5Christophe Bobda (Florida)
13:45Discussion Break

Keynote Abstracts